Letting Someone Else Lead The Way

Welp…I am trying something new today.  I am going on a small somewhat spontaneous vacation to a destination not of my choosing,  for reasons not of my choosing.  I never do this. I usually have almost every aspect of my trips planned all the way down to the restaurants I want to eat at while I’m there.  I don’t know my travel companions very well either, its a couple of friends from work, one of which is my boss (ohgod).  This whole thing is taking me out of my comfort zone.

I have a friend (boss),  Sarah, who is about 8 months pregnant.  She desperately wanted to go on a beach vacation before she had her baby.  She just sort of yelled out one day at work, “Hey Tiffany do you want to go to the beach with me?”…I said sure…she said “Ok..how about Galveston Texas?” and that fast she booked a house on the beach and now here I am, about a  month later…sitting at Denver international Airport.  I’m about 3 hours early, drinking Bloody Marys’ and researching Galveston.

and of course there is snapchatting going on!

I didn’t even rent the car…I am in no way in any sort of control and it feels pretty fantastic! (scary too, but fantastic).  If your thinking to yourself, “What’s the big deal?” Maybe I’m not making myself clear: I DON’T DO STUFF LIKE THIS!  I don’t like being out of control, but this feels pretty awesome.  Hopefully it ends up being the best time!

While I am not going with any set plan in mind, I do have 2 places I would like to visit. The Galveston Pleasure Pier and Moody Gardens.  As far as I can tell these are the 2 best touristy places to check out, besides the beach, of course!  Also…IT WILL BE MY FIRST TIME IN THE GULF OF MEXICO!

Update to follow!


Leave a Reply

